Faculty

Ron Anderson, P.Eng

Professor

x32565, McLaughlin Hall 228

anderson@queensu.ca

Multi-body Dynamics, Vehicle Dynamics

Ron Anderson

Levente Balogh

Assistant Professor

x74570, Nicol Hall 312B
levente.balogh@queensu.ca 

Irradiation of Materials

Laurent K Béland

Assistant Professor

x77465, Nicol Hall 328E
laurent.beland@queensu.ca 

Computational material science, Deformation mechanism in mesocale simulations

Dr. Béland

Michael Birk, P.Eng

Professor

x32570, McLaughlin Hall 230
michael.birk@queensu.ca

BLEVEs, Energy and Fluid Systems, Gas Turbines, Hazards in Compressed and Liquified Gases, Thermography

Dr. Birk

Gaby Ciccarelli, P. Eng

Professor

x32586, McLaughlin Hall 318
gaby.ciccarelli@queensu.ca

Combustion, Gasdynamics

Dr. Ciccarelli

Claire Davies, P.Eng

Assistant Professor

x78743, McLaughlin Hall 203
claire.davies@queensu.ca

Biomechanics, Assistive technology

Claire Davies

Mark Daymond, P.Eng

Professor

x32193, Nicol Hall 328D
mark.daymond@queensu.ca

Mechanics of Materials, Nuclear Materials

Dr. Daymond

Kevin Deluzio, P.Eng

Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science and Professor

x77881, BMH 200
kevin.deluzio@queensu.ca

Biomechanics of Human Motion, Orthopaedic Biomechanics

Dr. Deluzio

Brad Diak, P.Eng

Associate Professor 

x33180, Nicol Hall 328C
brad.diak@queensu.ca

Materials

Dr. Diak

Vahid Fallah

Assistant Professor

x77790, Nicol Hall 305A
vahid.fallah@queensu.ca 

Additive Manufacturing

Dr. Fallah

Stephen Harrison, P.Eng

Professor

x32588, McLaughlin Hall 406B
stephen.harrison@queensu.ca

Energy Conservation, Solar Energy, Thermal Calorimetry

Dr. Harrison

Jack Jeswiet, P.Eng

Professor

x32577, McLaughlin Hall 303A
jacob.jeswiet@queensu.ca

Machine Diagnostics, Metal Forming Operations, Process Modelling and Experimental Verification

Dr. Jeswiet

Il Yong Kim, P.Eng

Associate Professor

x33077, McLaughlin Hall 305
kimiy@queensu.ca

Mechanical Systems Design

Dr. Kim

Yong Jun Lai, P.Eng

Associate Professor

x36535, McLaughlin Hall 226
lai@queensu.ca

Micro Electro-Mechanical Systems

Dr. Lai

Qingguo Li, P.Eng

Associate Professor

x33191, McLaughlin Hall 301A
ql3@queensu.ca

Biomechanical System Design, Robotics, Locomotion

Dr. Li

Darko Matovic, P.Eng

Assistant Professor

x36824, McLaughlin Hall 322
darko.matovic@queensu.ca

Combustion, Fluid Dynamics

Dr. Matovic

Chris Mechefske, P.Eng

Professor

x33148, McLaughlin Hall 326
chris.mechefske@queensu.ca

Machinery Diagnostics

Dr. Mechefske

Leila Notash, P.Eng

Professor

x36778, McLaughlin Hall 320
leila.notash@queensu.ca

Fault Tolerant Operation, Manipulator Kinematics, Mechatronics and Robotics

Dr. Notash

Suraj Persaud

Assistant Professor

x74015, Nicol Hall 328D
suraj.persaud@queensu.ca

Corrosion, Mechanics of Materials, Nuclear Materials

Dr. Persaud

Jon Pharoah, P.Eng

Professor

x36579, McLaughlin Hall 222
jon.pharoah@queensu.ca

Fuel Cells (high and low temperature), Energy Systems, Transport phenomena, Membrane Separation, Computational Fluid Dynamics

Dr. Pharaoh

Keith Pilkey, P.Eng

Department Head and Professor

x36303, McLaughlin Hall 201 (main office)
keith.pilkey@queensu.ca

Materials and Manufacturing

Dr. Pilkey

Ugo Piomelli

Professor

x332758, McLaughlin Hall 217
ugo@queensu.ca

Large eddy and direct simulations, Turbulence simulations and modelling, Transition modelling, Computational fluid dynamics, Geophysical flows

Dr. Piomelli

Heidi Ploeg 

Associate Professor

Office: TBA
heidi.ploeg@queensu.ca 

Orthopaedic Biomechanics, Mechanobiology, Mechanical Fatigue, Design

Headshot of Dr. Ploeg

Michael Rainbow

Assistant Professor

x32896, McLaughlin Hall 220

michael.rainbow@queensu.ca

Biomechanics, Imaging, Computational Modeling

Dr. Rainbow

Roshni Rainbow

Assistant Professor

Office: TBA
roshni.rainbow@queensu.ca

Mechanobiology, Tissue engineering / Biomaterials, Biomechanics

Dr. Roshni Rainbow headshot

David E Rival, P.Eng

Associate Professor

x74767 McLaughlin Hall 208A
d.e.rival@queensu.ca

Experimental Fluid Dynamics, Aerodynamics and Hydrodynamics, Wind and Water Turbines, Biomimetics and Bioinspiration, Biomedical Flows

Dr. Rival

Rick Sellens, P.Eng

Associate Professor

x36760, McLaughlin Hall 209
sellensr@queensu.ca

Biomechanics, Fluids, Measurement Techniques 

Dr. Sellens

Brian Surgenor, P.Eng

Professor

x32568, Nicol Hall 225
brian.surgenor@queensu.ca

Manufacturing automation, Machine vision for inspection, Pneumatic servosystems, Mechatronics education

Dr. Surgenor

Zhongwen Yao, LEL 

Associate Professor

x33435, Nicol Hall 328B
yaoz@queensu.ca

Radiation induced defects in nuclear materials

Dr. Yao

Gene Zak, P.Eng

Associate Professor

x32567, McLaughlin Hall 207
gene.zak@queensu.ca

Laser-based Precision Manufacturing, Rapid Prototyping

Dr. Zak