Faculty

Alan Ableson

Assistant Professor

x32414, McLaughlin Hall 330

ableson@queensu.ca

Large-class teaching, data mining and applied statistics

Alan Ableson headsho

Levente Balogh

Assistant Professor

x74570, Nicol Hall 312B
levente.balogh@queensu.ca 

Irradiation of Materials

Levente Balogh

Laurent K Béland, P.Eng.

Assistant Professor

x77465, Nicol Hall 328E
laurent.beland@queensu.ca 

Computational material science, Deformation mechanism in mesocale simulations

Dr. Béland

Michael Birk, P.Eng.

Professor

x32570, McLaughlin Hall 230
michael.birk@queensu.ca

BLEVEs, Energy and Fluid Systems, Gas Turbines, Hazards in Compressed and Liquified Gases, Thermography

Dr. Birk

Gaby Ciccarelli, P. Eng.

Professor

x32586, McLaughlin Hall 322
gaby.ciccarelli@queensu.ca

Combustion, Gasdynamics

Dr. Ciccarelli

Claire Davies, P.Eng.

Assistant Professor

x78743, McLaughlin Hall 203
claire.davies@queensu.ca

Biomechanics, Assistive technology

Professor Davies

Mark Daymond, P.Eng.

Professor

x32193, Nicol Hall 328B
mark.daymond@queensu.ca

Mechanics of Materials, Nuclear Materials

Professor Daymond

Kevin Deluzio, P.Eng.

Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science and Professor

x77881, BMH 200
kevin.deluzio@queensu.ca

Biomechanics of Human Motion, Orthopaedic Biomechanics

Dr. Deluzio

Brad Diak, P.Eng.

Professor 

x33180, Nicol Hall 328C
brad.diak@queensu.ca

Materials

Dr. Diak

Vahid Fallah, P.Eng.

Assistant Professor

x77790, Nicol Hall 305A
vahid.fallah@queensu.ca 

Additive Manufacturing

Professor Fallah

Il Yong Kim, P.Eng.

Professor

x33077, McLaughlin Hall 305
kimiy@queensu.ca

Mechanical Systems Design

Dr. Kim

Yong Jun Lai, P.Eng.

Professor

x36535, McLaughlin Hall 226
lai@queensu.ca

Micro Electro-Mechanical Systems

Professor Lai

Qingguo Li, P.Eng.

Associate Department Head
Associate Professor

x33191, McLaughlin Hall 301A
ql3@queensu.ca

Biomechanical System Design, Robotics, Locomotion

Professor Li

Chris Mechefske, P.Eng.

Professor

x33148, McLaughlin Hall 326
chris.mechefske@queensu.ca

Machinery Diagnostics

Dr. Mechefske

Leila Notash, P.Eng.

Professor

x36778, McLaughlin Hall 320
leila.notash@queensu.ca

Fault Tolerant Operation, Manipulator Kinematics, Mechatronics and Robotics

Dr. Notash

Suraj Persaud, P.Eng.

Assistant Professor

x74015, Nicol Hall 328D
suraj.persaud@queensu.ca

Corrosion, Mechanics of Materials, Nuclear Materials

Professor Persaud

Jon Pharoah, P.Eng.

Professor

x36579, McLaughlin Hall 222
jon.pharoah@queensu.ca

Fuel Cells (high and low temperature), Energy Systems, Transport phenomena, Membrane Separation, Computational Fluid Dynamics

Dr. Pharaoh

Keith Pilkey, P.Eng.

Department Head and Professor

x36303, McLaughlin Hall 201 (main office)
keith.pilkey@queensu.ca

Metal forming, Bone mechanics, Micro-computed tomography imaging

Professor Pilkey

Ugo Piomelli

Professor

x332758, McLaughlin Hall 228
ugo@queensu.ca

Large eddy and direct simulations, Turbulence simulations and modelling, Transition modelling, Computational fluid dynamics, Geophysical flows

Professor Piomelli

Heidi Ploeg, P.Eng. 

Associate Professor

x74893, McLaughlin Hall, Room 303B
heidi.ploeg@queensu.ca 

Orthopaedic Biomechanics, Mechanobiology, Mechanical Fatigue, Design

Professor Ploeg

Michael Rainbow, P.L.Eng.

Associate Professor

x32896, McLaughlin Hall 220
michael.rainbow@queensu.ca

Biomechanics, Imaging, Computational Modeling

Dr. Rainbow

Roshni Rainbow, P.L.Eng.

Assistant Professor

x74840, McLaughlin Hall, Room 303
roshni.rainbow@queensu.ca

Mechanobiology, Tissue engineering / Biomaterials, Biomechanics

Professor Roshni Rainbow

David E Rival, P.Eng.

Associate Professor

x74767 McLaughlin Hall 208A
d.e.rival@queensu.ca

Experimental Fluid Dynamics, Aerodynamics and Hydrodynamics, Wind and Water Turbines, Biomimetics and Bioinspiration, Biomedical Flows

Professor Rival

Matthew Robertson

Assistant Professor

McLaughlin Hall
m.robertson@queensu.ca 

Soft Robotics, Mechatronics 

Matt Robertson Headshot

Rick Sellens, P.Eng.

Associate Professor

x36760, McLaughlin Hall 209
sellensr@queensu.ca

Biomechanics, Fluids, Measurement Techniques 

Dr. Sellens

David Strong, P.Eng.

Professor

x32606, Nicol Hall 224
david.strong@queensu.ca 

 Design Engineering 

David Strong

Brian Surgenor, P.Eng.

Professor

x32568, Nicol Hall 225
brian.surgenor@queensu.ca

Manufacturing automation, Machine vision for inspection, Pneumatic servosystems, Mechatronics education

Dr. Surgenor

Amy Wu, P.L.Eng. 

Assistant Professor

x32760, McLaughlin Hall 324
amy.wu@queensu.ca

Human Biomechanics and Locomotion, Mechatronics

Dr. Wu

Zhongwen Yao, LL 

Professor

x33435, Nicol Hall 328B
yaoz@queensu.ca

Radiation induced defects in nuclear materials

Dr. Yao

Gene Zak, P.Eng.

Associate Professor

x32567, McLaughlin Hall 207
gene.zak@queensu.ca

Laser-based Precision Manufacturing, Rapid Prototyping

Professor Zak